Jhené Aiko

Jhené Aiko

jhene-aiko-gq-lead1

Lately, I’ve been so in love with Jhené Aiko , I love her style, her voice and most importantly, her ability to write music that comes directly from her experience and her emotions. After listening to her music, I experience really strong feelings about the dark side of love and the deep emotion of betrayal. The connection I get from her story, I can feel her pain yet at the end, I experienced a sense of letting go, sailing out and being free.

Right now, my favorite song from Jhené Aiko is “The Worst” This is a song about her expressing her darkest fantasy of someone that did her wrong and doesn’t need to be in her life anymore. In the music video, there is a scene where Aiko kills her dead lover and she stated that she will never kill anyone but that’s a metaphor for getting rid of that person in her mind and killing those feelings for that person.

Aiko stated that she create music better when she’s hurt. When she’s in her dark place, that’s when she’s writing her way out of it. It’s a way for her to try and escape that hurt so she writes about it and tries to get over it. She wants to share her story and connect with people.

I am very glad that I came across Jhené Aiko because I can honestly say that she gave me the ability to see love from another perspective and that it’s okay to express your feelings even if it consists of pain and suffering because at the end of the day, this is a way to release the feeling and being free with yourself and letting go of the negative things in your life.

 

Leave a Reply

